Skip to content

500th Post Retrospective

September 26, 2014

It’s been a long time since I started this blog. My first post was on May 4, 2011. Since then, I have written 499 posts, mostly economics, but some about video games, politics, culture, roleplaying, or whatever else strikes my fancy. I used to have a Livejournal account, but moved to WordPress because Livejournal seemed limiting and too casual. I began writing in earnest after I got back from Oxford. Part of Oxford’s unique teaching style is requiring students to write reports every week and present their papers to the professor. I enjoyed that process greatly and didn’t want my writing skills to get rusty.

Eventually, I finished my masters degree, got married and bought a home. Things were going pretty well in my life until about two years ago. My first child died shortly after being born prematurely, which was devastating for both myself and my wife. It took the wind out of my sails, and crushed any desire to do anything, really, for several months. I really didn’t have any desire to teach the world economics, as had been my former goal.

This March, my second child was born, Chelsea, who is beautiful and healthy and cute as can be. For the first time in a very long time, I am falling in love with life again. I don’t know if I will go back to academic economics for awhile. I have been writing about video games, which served as an escape from reality for me. Somewhat surprisingly, those articles have been very popular, accruing nearly half a million hits over the past 6 months. I may go back to writing economics sooner or later, but as for now, it will still be an every once in awhile kind of thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

