Skip to content

The Best Weapons in Warframe (outdated)

April 16, 2014

This is going to be my final update of this article. I keep it current for several years, but I don’t play Warframe anymore and I can’t play test new weapons to say if they are worth getting. I can crunch DPS statistics, but sometimes a weapon’s other characteristics make it not as effective as the raw stats would imply. The Stug was a classic example of this. The raw DPS was impressive, but it was short range, inaccurate, and you had to wait for it to explode to get the full damage.

My advice generally is to get the most recent Prime weapon. Any prime or faction weapon that has been release recently will likely be top tier. Power creep is a big deal in Warframe and their business model requires it. If you want to sell Prime Access packs to whales, the newest weapon has to be the best.

This guide will remain as a new player guide, since those weapons change as quickly.

Starting Weapons
It does not matter much which ones you pick.  They are all bad.  Personally, I’d go with the MK1 Braton, the MK1 Kunai, and the MK1 Bo, but it’s personal preference.  Just level them to 30 and sell them once you get to the real part of the game.

First Upgrades
The Braton is the best weapon to grab right away, since it does more damage than the starting weapons and only costs 25,000 credits.  The Attica is a quite solid MR 0 primary weapon.  The Sonicor is a ridiculously powerful secondary, considering how easy it is to get.  The Twin Grakatas are excellent if you like rapid firing weapons.  The Amphis is the best mastery rank 0, non-Prime melee weapon.  Once you get some crit mods, the Atterax is a good option.

As soon as you get a good rank 30 weapon, try to get some Prime weapons.  They are almost all good, and if you have some platinum to spend, you should be able to buy some of the older Prime weapons on the cheap in trading chat.  Join a Faction as all the Faction weapons are very good, even though it takes some time to get to the top ranks.  If you join a clan, you’ll gain access to clan weapons which are inconsistent, but some are quite good.

For Sentinels, as of the last time I played the best one was the Sweeper Prime – A powerful short range shotgun.

For Archwing, the starter weapon Imperator was good enough to get you through pretty much any mission and the best melee was the Centaur.

Fun Weapons
For me, a lot of the fun of Warframe was trying innovative weapons that other games simply didn’t have.  Warframe devs were always trying to think of new and fun ways to slaughter the poor hapless Grineer.

My first love was the Akbolto. I love the look, sound, ragdoll (which is hilarious) and the semi auto power of these weapons.
Ignis – This thing does very little damage, but if you’re playing low tier stuff, you can kill EVERYTHING, especially with Firestorm and Heavy Caliber.
Bows – Because they are hard to hit with, they can be very satisfying when you land that long range headshot. Very few FPSs have fun bows to use.
Opticor – It requires a huge amount of love and attention to get its full potential realized, but once it does, nuking everything in a line is quite entertaining.
Boar Prime – BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM *reloads*.
Penta – Because you can kill yourself so easily, the Penta requires skill and attention, and that makes it a very engaging weapon to use.
The old Dual Zoren/Dual Ichor – Back when these things had a 1.5 attack speed, they were insanely fun to use. Now, meh.
Orthos – The AOE is really good making this thing fun to use against Infested who otherwise would tear you apart at close range. The look and sound of this weapon makes it very fun to use. The Prime version doesn’t look as cool, but it’s a damage boost, so its what I normally use.
Kestrel – The ragdoll makes this the most fun thrown melee to use.  Having a boomerang weapon was always quite fun, even though they were never quite powerful enough for high level content.
The old Gorgon – The whole portable mini-gun aesthetic was just so much fun.  The slow windup just made it even more satisfying when you finally did cut loose.  With punch-through, it was sublime.
Latron Prime – My first Prime weapon, and for a long long time, my favorite. I’m not sure why, but very few video games are willing to put a competitive semi-automatic rifle in their weapons list. Usually the powerful single shot weapons are pistols, as if inexplicably pistol rounds are more powerful than rifle rounds in video game world despite the real world being the opposite. Even though the design is a bit boring by Warframe standards, I love the skill involved in landing accurate long range headshots in a game as fast paced as Warframe is. The Latron is just a solid punchy weapon, and with fantastic ammo economy, a mainstay for long defense and survival missions back in the days before team ammo restores. 

Links:
The Wiki
My beginner’s guide
The Best Weapons in Warframe
Archwing Weapon Guide
Ash Build Guide
Banshee Build Guide
Elytron Guide
Ember Guide
Excalibur Guide
Frost Guide
Hydroid Guide
Itzal Build Guide
Loki Guide
Mag Guide
Nekros Guide
Nova Guide
Nyx Guide
Oberon Guide
Odanata Guide
Rhino Guide
Saryn Guide
Trinity Guide
Valkyr Guide
Vauban Guide
Volt Guide
Zephyr Guide

193 Comments leave one →
  1. Jay permalink
    April 27, 2014 9:42 am

    Keep up the Warframe coverage. Your blog has been very helpful with my weapon builds. Maybe you can post some of your frame builds?

  2. Jay permalink
    April 27, 2014 9:46 am

    Also, any changes to your melee builds with melee 2.0?

    • April 27, 2014 5:23 pm

      Not particularly, other than to always use Pressure Point. After Pressure point, use molten impact or fever strike because you get 90% damage when it’s fully ranked. After that, I’d go for Fury.

  3. June 18, 2014 9:09 am

    Cool , i can say boltor prime is best :DDDD

  4. Sorin permalink
    July 10, 2014 9:24 am

    For the Shotgun top I would say that Strun Wraith is the best.

  5. drenzul2 permalink
    July 28, 2014 8:18 pm

    No dual ether blades?
    I was told they are one of the best, particularly when elemental fitted, due to armour ignore and overall good stats as well as multiple attacks per button press. Cheap to make even early on as well.

    • July 29, 2014 7:49 am

      They were amazing back in Damage 1.0 (Update 10 and earlier), but Damage 2.0 removed armor ignore, and so these days they are decent, but nothing special. I still like them, and they look cool, but they don’t make the cut.

  6. sam permalink
    August 2, 2014 8:09 pm

    I don’t understand your top DPS for primary weapons… The Latron only has high base damage, but its dps cannot compare to others, DPS is different from the damage of a weapon. Most players look for the best burst DPS (dps from a single clip) and the primary weapons that are best for that are Soma, Synapse, Grakata, and Boltor Prime. If its dps against crowds then obviously the Amprex surpasses all of the before.

    • August 2, 2014 10:06 pm

      The Soma, Synapse, and Boltor Prime make the cut, but the Grakata does not. If you use a crit build, the Latron Prime has insane burst damage. The Amprex and Ignis are both good against crowds, so perhaps I should add them in a note.

    • Riggald permalink
      May 21, 2015 10:33 pm

      I tend to calculate things in damage per minute (dpm) rather than damage per second (dps). And the tougher the enemy gets, the more important crits become.

      I’ve now started calculating the crit dpm (cdpm) for standard weapons and my builds.

      My (4 forma) Latron Prime now does 3.8Million damage per minute in crits.
      This compares to :
      unmodded Latron Prime – 10.8K cpdm
      unmodded Boltor Prime – 7.1K cdpm
      unmodded Braton Prime – 23.7K cdpm

      my (1 forma) Boltor Prime – 183K cdpm

      A friend has a 2 forma Latron Wraith, and it does 4.6Million cdpm

      • May 22, 2015 9:42 am

        I do my calculations based on a max forma build. It’s been a few months since I’ve redone all the calculations, but it gets tedious when they add a new weapon and tweak old ones so frequently. I’ve redone this article half a dozen times now. I think it’s pretty good right now as it is. The last major overhaul was when they added Syndicate weapons.

  7. Bob permalink
    September 30, 2014 10:43 pm

    What about hate, despair and dread?

    • October 1, 2014 9:31 am

      The hate is not as good as the reaper prime. The despair are good as far as silent weapons go, but don’t have the DPS output of the weapons on my list. The Dread is an interesting case. While its DPS is top tier, it is primarily slash damage, which is good against infested. However, a bow is a poor choice against infested, due to its low fire rate.

      • January 12, 2015 4:11 pm

        Dread is by far the endgame bow of choice. I understand why you wouldnt keep it in this guide tho since this isnt an endgame guide.

        When doing a long T4 survival I insist that all 4 players use corrosive projection. That takes away all armor, which just leaves shields and health. If you use a Mag or Vauben Vortex then the enemies have no shields.

        After that you use weapons with Slash and Viral. The Dread is the slash king of weapons.

      • January 12, 2015 4:58 pm

        The Dread is listed in the “Bows” section. I agree that its DPS is top-tier.

  8. Ch3ckm8 permalink
    October 1, 2014 1:51 pm

    Maybe it’s just outdated but I think the Kronen released in update 14.6 I think. It’s stats 65 normal dmg a crazy 390 on slide is all I remember and its a Tonfa. 20% Status effect and the blade is easy to obtain overall.

    • October 1, 2014 2:53 pm

      (Update: I just got the Kronen a few days ago and have tested them a bit) The Kronen are powerful, but the reach is fairly short and they don’t copter well. To make the list, a weapon needs to be utterly devastating, and the Kronen just don’t make the cut.

  9. FlarmBlarg permalink
    October 1, 2014 7:47 pm

    I think you may have forgotten the Dex Furis in the secondary ;o able to dish out over 240 shots in a clip ^_^

    • October 1, 2014 9:18 pm

      I did not include anything that’s exclusive. I want this to be a guide of stuff that a new player could get.

  10. October 19, 2014 7:14 pm

    Excelent work here

  11. (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
    December 7, 2014 5:48 pm

    You should factor in Syndicate weapons. It is not exclusive to new players (except it has to be MR3) but it is still possible to easily aquire and I would love to see your opinion on those.

    • December 7, 2014 9:42 pm

      I know the Telos Akbolto and Vaykor Marelok are very good. I doubt the Rakta Balistica and Sancti Castanas are top tier, since their base weapons are so bad (or at least low DPS. I do enjoy the Castanas, but they aren’t good for really high level). I think the Synoid Gammacor might be top tier.

      • (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
        December 8, 2014 9:32 pm

        Syndicate Ranks:

        Synoid Gammacor – God Tier – Competes with Brakk and Marelok at the moment.

        Vaykor Marelok and Telos Akbolto – Above Average Tier – Can compete and overrule almost everything in Warframe with the right builds.

        Vaykor Marelok = Status and Crit viable.

        Telos Akbolto = Amazing Burst DPS by far and competitor with Boltor Prime at regular gunfights + CC.

      • (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
        December 8, 2014 9:33 pm

        Also on a side note, your recent update still says:

        As of update 14.6 rather than Update 15.5.9

      • December 9, 2014 7:50 am

        Well, that’s cause 14.6 was the last time I did a full calculation.

      • (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
        December 8, 2014 9:36 pm

        One last thing:

        For Melee weapons:

        Highest DPS:

        Scindo Prime (with Cleaving Whirldwing)

        (Berserker, Fury and Manticore skin optional but Cleaving Whirldwind outperforms Crimson Dervish)

  12. (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
    December 9, 2014 12:53 pm

    Thanks for the update. Do you have a Kik? Easier communication.

    • December 9, 2014 1:03 pm

      Nope.

    • December 9, 2014 3:41 pm

      Yeah, I ran the numbers on the Synoid Gammacor last night, and was very impressed. It does almost as much as the Brakk at point blank range, and at longer ranges, quite a bit more.

      • January 10, 2015 3:04 pm

        With punch thru the Synoid is unbelievable. I use it in the void up to level 100 with a rad/viral/mag build.

  13. (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
    December 9, 2014 11:35 pm

    Yep. Very impressive.

    Ultimately I would say

    Synoid Gammacor > Brakk because of utility and more damage overall + no drop off.

  14. (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
    December 16, 2014 4:55 pm

    Soma Prime Out-DPS Soma. Not power creep but can potentially Out-DPS Boltor Prime with a Crit Build + Serration and is now even a little more viable for status mods.

    • December 16, 2014 5:48 pm

      I’ve updated to include the Soma Prime. I’m surprised the Akvasto out-DPS the Vasto Prime. Perhaps they’ll release an Akvasto Prime.

  15. xaz351 permalink
    December 28, 2014 3:00 pm

    what about kronen when u use some mods like cold , heat , toxin , ELECTRIC the spin
    attack will be very powerfull , when i use kronen with these mods the spin attack can deal 2100 damage and u can make it higher and higher

    • December 28, 2014 9:43 pm

      The Kronen have a good spin attack, but the normal attack isn’t as powerful as the weapons listed. I think overall, they are good, but not great.

  16. Binyamin permalink
    January 6, 2015 8:27 am

    As far as the archwing, the event has shown us that the imperator lacks dps when compared to the other weapons. I’ve seen someone pull off 3M damage solo.

    And for all you boltor prime lovers out there, the Soma Prime compares very closely in DPS, has a larger clip size and shorter flight time.
    For close range, the boltor prime might be more viable, but for longer range the soma prime feels more accurate and has a higher DPS because you can’t do damage if you can’t hit.

    Also the Soma has a wind up time. This means you can click for single shot, not wasting any ammo, and if you need to let her rip, just hold down the button.

    • January 6, 2015 9:41 am

      I even prefer the standard Soma to the Boltor Prime on any mission with long ranges involved. Which weapon would you say is better for Archwing than the Imperator?

      Edit: It looks like the numbers in the wiki are inconsistent. I’m going to look at the in game stats and see if the Imperator is still #1 for sustained DPS.

      • (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
        January 8, 2015 2:07 am

        Best Archwing Weapon (IMO)

        Velocitus – Very High DPC but not DPS

        Best Primary

        Soma Prime – Has better DPS than all Primaries in-game right now. Even Boltor Prime and I hate Boltor Prime anyway.

      • January 8, 2015 9:47 am

        The Velocitus has slightly higher DPS than the Imperator with a crit build. With a 100 round clip, you don’t need to reload all mission, so burst damage is effectively the only thing you need to worry about.

  17. (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
    January 9, 2015 8:24 am

    The Tipedo comes close to DPS — if not higher, than Scindo Prime.

    The Tipedo is my favorite melee weapon by far:

    • Amazing Copter — Very Close to Bo P
    • DPS — Higher than Bo P, Orthos P
    • Chances — 20.0% Crit & Status Base
    • Reliability — Very Strong & Fast
    • CC — Range of swings very wide

    This should help you. ^

    • January 9, 2015 9:57 am

      I didn’t have a Bo sitting around so I had to build that first, so I haven’t play-tested the Tipedo yet. I like to play with a weapon for a while before adding it to my “best” list. I’ll probably add it in a couple days.

      Also, they might nerf it. They frequently nerf something shortly after releasing it. I honestly don’t think they consider the numbers for more than 10 seconds before releasing stuff.

      Update: I checked the Wiki, and the DPS is nowhere near the Scindo Prime. The crit %/dam is the same, and the base damage is a little more than half (65 vs. 125)

      • (PS4)VoiD_Glitch permalink
        January 10, 2015 2:20 pm

        But, did you factor in the attack rate which is a very large margin apart?

      • January 12, 2015 1:20 pm

        Yes. Attack speed of Tipdeo is 1.3, but 1.3 *50 < 130 * .967. Even with the higher attack speed, the DPS is less than the Scindo Prime.

  18. Draelthalas permalink
    January 10, 2015 12:06 am

    What about Jat Kittag? Its the most powerful melee weapon ive worked with, mine does around 2200 damage, over 4400 spin attack. I run around t4d with it for 20-25 rounds before it starts to get weak.

    • January 10, 2015 8:49 am

      It looks like they sped it up. I think it’s attack speed used to be 0.8, but now it’s one. I’ll replace the Bo Prime.

  19. January 10, 2015 3:01 pm

    Best sentinel rifle is deth machine rifle? Really? I put that at the bottom. Only sentinel weapons i use is sweeper, stinger, and maybe deconstructor. The rest arent even worth equipping IMO.

    Keep up warframe coverage.

    • January 12, 2015 5:01 pm

      I have the most luck with the Sweeper personally, however, the deth machine rifle has more DPS by the numbers. I think the reason might be the wind up time is very long so it doesn’t reach the top DPS very often.

      • January 14, 2015 2:02 am

        wow. im not questioning your math but i find it unbelievable the deth machine rifle out dps the Stinger and the Sweeper. wow thats so crazy. I believe ya but wow thats a trip. I cant remember off the top of my head exact numbers but i recall not many sentinel weapons getting over 10 base damage.

        My sweeper does 250 Impact and 1100 Blast damage. I love it because while it may not always kill it will almost always put any enemy that has snuck up on me on the ground. I dont see why someone would use a sentinel for damage much anyways. I think kubrows best fit that category.

        In my opinion DPS and actual in game reality are two different things. For example: A DPS build will tell you that using speed trigger mod increases your DPS, but in reality you will get better results subsituting a punch-thru mod instead. In reality you are rarely shooting at one target, instead shooting at mobs of enemies. Using speed trigger a large portion of your ammo is going into already dead bodies who have yet to hit the ground.

        I know I kind of went off in a rant there. I just wanted to get out my feelings on DPS lol.

        But while we are talking about DPS does the Deth Machine rifle beat the Stinger and the Deconstructor?

        Do you like the Stinger?

        The way I play it is if im using a rifle primary I use the Sweeper. If I use a shotgun primary then I use the Stinger.

        My prefered sentinel is almost always the Carrier. Problem is the carrier precept is terrible for using the stinger, So I find myself using the Wyrm prime or the Djinn. The Djinn I only like to use when Im running a melee frame, So my questionis what sentinel should I use with the stinger? I usually use the Wyrm Prime but Ive read elsewhere the death machine actually has the better precept.

      • January 14, 2015 9:43 am

        So, the formula:
        Crit bonus = (Crit chance * (crit damage – 1)) + 1
        Time to cycle = Magazine size / RoF + Reload speed
        Damage per magazine = Damage x magazine size x crit bonus
        DPS = Damage per magazine / time to cycle

        Using the numbers from the wiki, I get:
        Burst laser: 10.5
        Deconstructor: 39.4
        Deth Machine Rifle: 34.9
        Laser Rifle: 20.6
        Prime Laser Rifle: 35.3
        Stinger: 24.9
        Sweeper: 34.1

        With Primed Point Blank, Sweeper utterly dominates post modding, which I use dpsframe.com to estimate. It’s a bit outdated, but it serves the purpose fine. With the normal mods, Prime Laser rifle out-DPSs both Stinger and Deth Machine Rifle, so actually, I’ll update the article. I never use Stinger because with it’s low accuracy, I find it kills much slower than the hit-scan weapons. I didn’t even potato it.

      • January 14, 2015 3:41 pm

        Thanks for breaking that down. Omg the stinger has terrible accuracy. it kills what it hits if it ever hits anything. Youve convinced me im leaving behind my stinger.

        Oh and you just mentioning Primed Point Blank makes this PS4 player burn with jealousy! ;p

        Thanks for replies and coverage. While i sometimes disagree with your builds and opinions in the end, I want you to know that when I first build a frame I always go to your builds to get an opinion on what works. I hope your site gets more traffic because the help you give is unrivaled. Thanks.

      • January 14, 2015 3:43 pm

        Also yeah i find that the results on dpsframe and warframe builder are at times a little bit off but they are usually close enough. The descrepancy is probably because im using a PS4 older version tho.

  20. Jay permalink
    February 21, 2015 4:34 pm

    I’ve recently returned to Warframe, and I had to look up my favorite site again. I see you are still doing a great job. Plus, it looks like you are getting more comments, which probably means more traffic. Congrats!

    • February 22, 2015 8:55 pm

      This post is extremely popular. I try to keep it current. Back when I first wrote it, the Latron Prime made the cut, and now it’s not in the top 20.

      • Rawr permalink
        March 19, 2015 9:28 am

        Yeah i check back here a lot. keep updating it dude

  21. Rawr permalink
    March 20, 2015 10:02 am

    Synoid got nerfed D:

    • March 20, 2015 11:44 am

      It still makes the cut, but it’s much more balanced. High burst damage, but the ammo economy is terrible now.

  22. April 21, 2015 6:13 am

    Amprex, Synapse or Phage for high T4 Survival/Defence?

    Amprex used to be my favorite but the reload and ammo consumption are really bad.

    • April 21, 2015 9:59 am

      I never use the Amprex or Synapse for any long term mission. You’ll make 10 min easily, but any longer and you’ll have to spam ammo restores. The Phage is fantastic for ammo economy, and for defense, the limited range doesn’t really hurt you. On bigger maps for survival, I like longer range weapons. Honestly, I haven’t used any shotguns for 3 updates, but I used to use Boar Prime all the time.

  23. April 21, 2015 6:24 am

    BTW Rakta Ballistica got a massive buff, it should be in the top tier now.

    • April 21, 2015 9:57 am

      Updated. I don’t play Warframe very much anymore, so unless someone comments, I don’t update the article.

  24. bdplaya permalink
    April 29, 2015 3:25 pm

    too bad you dont play anymore, the guide is good and brings help to new players.

  25. Bubohubert permalink
    May 1, 2015 4:32 pm

    so, which weapon is the strongest? Which one is the best for 1hour T4 survival? 🙂 is it Brakk? Phage? Or any bow?

    What do you say about Dual Ichor?

    • May 2, 2015 1:24 pm

      Soma prime if you can get it. For secondary, I would say Brakk or Telos Akbolto. Bows are fun, but aren’t “the best”.

      • Bubohubert permalink
        May 2, 2015 6:39 pm

        Thank you Very much! Is phage good? ( better than soma P and Brakk) What is the best melee for this high void? ( lvl 120+) dual ichor? Dakra P + Crimson Dervish? Tipedo?

    • May 2, 2015 9:46 pm

      Phage is one of my favorites. Its really hard to say what is best. depends on playstyle and how you mod it.

      As far as melee goes I’m pretty sure that Tipedo has the highest DPS because of its speed. Mod it for crit and speed with berzerker. Dual Ichors are great. dakra p is ho hum. Again its all about personal preference tho. My favorite is the dual cleavers modded for crit with the justice buff. The justice buff gives you a nice boost to your armor. I use swirling tigers for stance.

      You should check out some sites like warframe builder or the dps website. google and you should find em.

      • Bubohubert permalink
        May 3, 2015 2:16 am

        Thank you 🙂 but i still think, that dual ichor is better than Tipedo. I looked at warframe builder and i did the best there. Tipedo has just about 200 or less points on DPS than Dual Ichor ( with full berzerker buff) but Dual ichor has better crit chance, so it can full berzerker faster. Than dual ichor can deal just viral dmg – really good on high void. And i think that 2000 dps ( Dual ichor -viral only, big status chance) is better than 2200 dps ( Tipedo) isn’t it True? 🙂

      • May 4, 2015 4:16 pm

        Back when the Dual Ichor’s attack speed was 1.3, they were the best fast attack weapon. Now that it’s only 1.1, they just aren’t as good. I disagree with DE’s nerf of all dual wielded weapons a few patches back, but it happened and now polearms are the best.

  26. May 6, 2015 8:46 am

    Where would the Tonkor fit on the launcher list?

    • May 6, 2015 3:46 pm

      Haven’t played with it yet.

      • Zombi3h3art permalink
        May 22, 2015 7:46 am

        Thanks for the help! What do you think about the tiberon? What about the ignis? Is the ignis better with only fire damage or with fire and other element mixed? I appreciate the nekros build also. Another thing, would your idea of the most effective physical damage be that puncture is best?

      • May 22, 2015 9:39 am

        I like the Tiberon, but it’s not top tier. It’s a solid gun for most content as long as you’re not taking into T4 survival or defense.
        I love my Ignis. I formaed it 5 times. It’s not very good above level 30 or so, even with a max forma build. I use Serration, Split Chamber, Heavy Caliber, Malignant Force, High Voltage (for corrosive), Hellfire, Thermite Rounds, and Firestorm. That makes its AOE huge and damage pretty good.
        Puncture is the best physical against Grineer, Impact is best against Corpus, and Slash is best against Infested.

      • June 9, 2015 3:39 pm

        You should if you havent by now. I hit a 1 billion crit already with it, its insane for high lvl void, or pretty much anything.

      • June 10, 2015 8:48 am

        After playtesting it, I’m not going to add it. Yes, it does a ton of damage, but the two round clip is annoying and the timing on the blasts is weird.

      • August 3, 2015 3:55 am

        You might want to take another look at it now with that new mod being added. If your issue was the explosion timing, the new mod makes the grenades stick to the first surface they hit before exploding. Might make it better for you.

      • gavin241 permalink
        August 6, 2015 7:08 am

        If you’re relying on explosion timing then you’re using it wrong. The grenades explode on impact with players or enemies so you need to maintain your accuracy. On defence missions the cryopod will detonate them as well making it easy to kill swarms of infested. Plus the current Zephyr combo which makes them explode on impact with anything.

  27. ARANDOMPERSON permalink
    June 11, 2015 8:54 pm

    Tonkor is really good at CC, killing everyone at once. It has only 2 clip size, but that’s not my complain. The only complain I have about it is how hard it is to aim. Adding a flight speed mod might sound dumb, but that fixes the aiming by alot. I got forma few days ago and now it’s easily one of my fav weapon with ton of Damage. Best thing is that it can’t kill you.

  28. Travia permalink
    June 13, 2015 8:33 pm

    Galatine. Tempo Royale. Where is it?

    • June 16, 2015 8:54 am

      Sorry, but Scindo Prime is better. Maybe once charged attacks are added back in the Galatine will return to its former glory.

  29. Matty permalink
    July 9, 2015 10:33 pm

    You really really should add Tonkor. I didn’t like it at first, left it in my inventory for 2 months to rot. After that, I figured, welp.. no more weapons to max out, might as well max my Tonkor. This time, I did it differently. Instead of maxing it in pure damage, I put reload speed to it. I also added flight speed, now this might seem bad. But I do get 10k-60k damage in T4S on each hit. The Tonkor’s reload is a bit annoying but definitely manageable. Instead of dying when you rocket enemies in a close range, you only fly.

  30. Fecio permalink
    July 24, 2015 11:47 am

    I like this list a lot and I agree with most things but I’m confused as to why there’s no dakra prime or dragon nikana as melee weapons (especially after dragon nikana got the new stalker stance) I know that they’re hard to get but they aren’t exclusive and it could give new players an idea as to what to aim for later down the line.

    • July 28, 2015 11:37 am

      The Dakra Prime is outclassed by the Dragon Nikana and the Scindo Prime. I have added the Dragon Nikana to the list.

      • Serafin Valencia permalink
        August 2, 2015 12:31 pm

        Also no insult to you but um Dakra prime has been proven to out dps and even do more damage per hit than the dragon nikana with crimson dervish Dakra prime deserves to be on this list more than dragon nikana also Dakra prime is outclassed by the SCINDO but only by a medium margin Dakra prime still has its uses over the SCINDO in certain circumstances while I still find spin 2 win SCINDO more fun than Dakra prime please consider adding it in watch some videos do some testing soon enough you’ll find out it is better stat and performance wise also consider adding Latron prime simply because a Latron with an elemental build shreds t4 enemies

  31. Serafin Valencia permalink
    August 2, 2015 12:11 pm

    Dakra Prime definitely deserves to be on there it’s tied as the best melee weapon alongside the SCINDO prime and it does better overall damage than drakana

    • August 2, 2015 8:56 pm

      dakra prime is no longer available in the game. all the weapons he keeps on this list are available without having to trade. I havent sat down and looked at dps but this is first ive heard of dakra prime being anything but one of the worst prime weapons in the game. The only reason i never got rid of mine is because it does have high base damage so i can use it for my spectors.

      As far as dps in the game goes im pretty sure its tipedo, scindo prime, then dragon nakana.

      but for simple fact that dakra prime is in the vault now and not readily farmable/available then it prolly wont make the list. not my say tho just what i assume.

  32. bdplaya permalink
    August 27, 2015 9:41 am

    Pls update the shotgun section the boar prime is a POS in its current state.

    • August 27, 2015 3:24 pm

      Thanks for reminding me. Shotguns need some serious love these days, since only the Phage is worth using and that’s not even a real shotgun.

      • bdplaya permalink
        August 30, 2015 12:11 pm

        james, fan of your blog here, you should check the insane buff on tigris and hek, its absolutely insane. They gave shotguns a general buff but those 2 stand above the rest.

  33. NoxiusCZ permalink
    August 30, 2015 6:03 pm

    Even though this is outdated post i want to ask you why didnt you put in dakra prime. It maybe doesnt look like the best weapon in dps (when you just check the numbers) but i read everywhere that if you put crimson deevish mod on it its dmg compares to that of scindo p

    • August 31, 2015 12:37 am

      please scroll up 4 or 5 comments to read my reply to someone else who mentioned dakra prime. Dakra prime is in the vault and is not readily accessible to new players unless they spend plat. This goes against his criteria for weapons on this page.

  34. Tonkor Guy (UMADBRO)? permalink
    October 12, 2015 8:41 pm

    What do you think about the Twin Grakata?

    http://warframe-builder.com/Secondary_Weapons/Builder/Twin_Grakatas/t_30_32222300_193-3-5-195-5-5-196-6-5-204-1-10-206-4-5-222-7-5-487-0-10-543-2-10_487-8-204-7-543-6-193-6-206-6-195-6-196-11-222-9/en/3-0-71/69748/

    I did not add firerate focus mods to increase the DPS because it’s a waste of ammo. You can add primed ammo mutation anytime though.

    • October 14, 2015 4:05 pm

      I love them. That fire rate is insane and with Shred, it just tears through lower level enemies. For high level stuff though, the Secura Dual Cestras are a bit better.

      • Tonkor Guy (UMADBRO)? permalink
        October 19, 2015 10:04 am

        Shred >.>? It’s a pair of pistols >.>

      • October 19, 2015 3:55 pm

        Whatever the pistol punchthrough mod is.

    • October 14, 2015 4:08 pm

      I put the Tonkor back back in, BTW. I know it’s good, but I like the Penta better.

  35. Tonkor Guy (UMADBRO)? permalink
    October 15, 2015 8:18 am

    How about the Lex Prime? It is like the critical Marelok.

    • October 15, 2015 3:43 pm

      You’re right. With a crit build it beats out the Vaykor Marelok after the recent buff. I’ll update the article.

  36. Clem permalink
    October 26, 2015 8:22 pm

    No idea why u would prefer Dual Sucetra over Twin Grakatas.

    • October 26, 2015 9:27 pm

      I’m just not as skilled with my Twin Grakatas as you are Clem.

      • Clem permalink
        October 27, 2015 7:45 pm

        I DECLARE WAR! PUT IN CLEM TIER NOW!

  37. Too Kaotic permalink
    October 27, 2015 12:18 am

    Have u taken a look at the Rakta Cernos yet. It has decent crit, excellent damage, fastest charge rate of any weapon, and has that syndicate Viral AoE.

    • October 27, 2015 10:10 pm

      Thanks, I updated the article.

      • October 27, 2015 10:26 pm

        First, you spelled “Rakta” incorrectly, and second, you should remove the Speed Trigger tip, at least for the Rakta. Part of the reason as to why the Rakata Cernos is so good that its charge time is already fast enough to warrant using a damage mod instead of a fire rate one.

      • October 28, 2015 7:55 am

        I think, but I’ll have to test this, that the charge time gets added to the base fire rate, which on the Rakta Cernos is still 1 round a minute. Otherwise, it could shoot 40 arrows per minute and that seems really fast.

      • October 28, 2015 7:28 pm

        No, I think what you’re remembering is that Reload times is still a thing with bows, though most people ignore it. No matter how fast you get the Rakta’s fire rate, it will always be impaired by it’s reload time. That’s why I don’t bother running fire rate mods on the Rakta, because in order to really get value out of that Speed mod you also need to add a Fast Hands, which is using too many slots.

      • November 2, 2015 5:42 pm

        In that case, I would use fast hands, especially if you’ve got a high ranked primed fast hands. The low fire rate on bows is their main drawback (pun intended).

  38. Tonkor Guy (UMADBRO)? permalink
    November 2, 2015 10:23 pm

    DAMNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN Main Drawback.
    A question though, why would u prefer Dual S over Twin Grakatas?

    • November 3, 2015 11:22 am

      The real answer is I didn’t add primed pistol gambit. With that mod, the Twin Grakatas are much better. Even with the AOE of the Syndicate weapons, it’s still probably worth using the Grakatas. The ammo economy is bad, but I suppose with a ammo mutation it wouldn’t be too bad.

      • Clem permalink
        November 3, 2015 8:44 pm

        Again, why did you add TWO GRAKATA into your list? IT SHOULD BE CLEM TIER!!!! >:C

  39. Clem permalink
    November 3, 2015 8:46 pm

    YEY!!! Primed Target Cracker iz out!!! GRAKATA!!!!

    • November 4, 2015 4:50 pm

      Already added Twin Grakatas to the best weapon list. May your bullets fly true and all your crits be red!

      • Clem permalink
        November 5, 2015 7:51 pm

        Clem!

  40. November 17, 2015 6:27 am

    Its Angstrum not Angstrom, the link is wrong too.

    Is Twin Grakata actually the most damaging weapon in the game if you add all primed mods?

    • November 17, 2015 10:30 am

      I’m not sure, but it’s pretty darn good now that there are both primed crit mods for secondaries.

    • Clem permalink
      November 17, 2015 9:18 pm

      Twin Grakatas is not the most damaging weapon in game, but it has the highest Burst DPS in all Secondary Weapons (Correct me if I’m wrong) and Primary Rifles. (Not including shotgun and explosive weapons.)

      • Clem permalink
        November 17, 2015 9:19 pm

        It only loses DPS to Shotguns since their damage output is crazy. Maybe some explosive weapons.

  41. November 21, 2015 8:57 am

    Regular he is way better than vaykor use breech loader hells chamber prime point blank accelerated blast scattered Justice I use toxic barrade and electric event mod for corrosive and a third damage I do 9k+ puncture 1k+ slash n impact and 8k corrosive its by far strongest build.

    • Clem permalink
      November 23, 2015 11:42 pm

      Hek do have higher Damage per shot (if not headshot), but only by a little if you maxed Primed Ravage for Vaykor Hek. But the point is that Vaykor Hek can shoot faster, MUCH larger magazine. Headcrit also deals much higher damage.

      • December 15, 2015 3:20 pm

        I agree with Clem here. They both do an insane amount of damage that i cant tell the difference. but the clip size of the Vaykor has me sold. 4 rounds in the reg hek? nah. 8 rounds is a huge difference. It wouldnt be so bad if the reload time wasnt so long. I’m not a fan of weapons that i spend most the time reloading.

  42. Shish permalink
    November 30, 2015 11:44 am

    Wait, no vaykor marelock?

  43. December 6, 2015 7:19 am

    What do you think about the Broken-War?

    • Bach permalink
      December 6, 2015 7:35 am

      Best sword in the game.

  44. Clem permalink
    December 14, 2015 10:13 pm

    What do you think about the Lanka? I forma’d it 6 times yesterday, it is pretty decent. Red crit, high damage, but requires Vile Acceleration to make it usable.

    • Clem permalink
      December 14, 2015 10:22 pm

      Sweet Sweet 100k Crit headshot. Innate Punch through, red crits,BUT SLOW CHARGE SPEED I LOVE IT

    • December 15, 2015 3:15 pm

      I personally really don’t like sniper type weapons in this game. The way the game is set up there is rarely a use for a sniper weapon. You usually are in more need of CC. If im ever in a situation where i need some distance I will usually use the marelock to do my sniping.

      • December 15, 2015 4:52 pm

        I like the Opticor, but mostly because of the way it looks. Other than that, if I really feel like sniping, I use a bow. I feel like the challenge of hitting with a bow, as well as the stealth and ragdoll advantages make it so much more satisfying than any other sniper type weapon in the game.

        I agree with Dave. Snipers suck in Warframe, no matter how much damage they do. If you’re going to do high level defense and survival, you need to deal with hordes, and that usually means high rate of fire.

        For stealth, my favorite loadout is Ash, Dread, Telos Akbolto (with Hush), and Orthos Prime. For non-stealth, I go Frost, Soma, Telos Akbolto, and Orthos Prime. Probably not the “best”, but that’s what I use.

      • Clem permalink
        December 15, 2015 9:10 pm

        I mean, comparing to Vectis Prime.

      • December 15, 2015 9:16 pm

        oh yeah i love the opticor. I wasnt even thinking of it being a sniper. I agree with ya on the bows. I’m not sure how the lanka compares to the vectis Clem. I think stat-wise (DPS) the vectis prime is the highest you can get with snipers. If im not mistaken i think the lanka is pure electricity damage so you wouldnt get any physical damage out of it. Which really isnt a big deal.

        Whats great about this game is the variety. Almost every weapon in the game can be modded to be pretty good so its really about what feels good to you personally.

      • Clem permalink
        December 15, 2015 9:17 pm

        Since it has 5m Innate Punch Through, and the play style is almost identical as bow. I think it is as good if not better than Vectis Prime IMO. But eh, that’s just my Opionion. A GAME OPIONION. Thanks for reading.

      • Clem Somehow defending Lanka (Which is really weird) permalink
        December 16, 2015 12:09 am

        Take this build for an example. But remember to set it to Charged Shot and Maximum Zoom.

        Lanka:
        http://warframe-builder.com/Primary_Weapons/Builder/Lanka/t_30_22222300_132-1-5-133-6-5-137-0-10-140-3-5-141-5-5-150-4-10-159-2-5-405-7-5_137-7-132-8-159-5-140-5-150-8-141-6-133-11-405-9/en/2-0-20/38366/0

        Vectis Prime:
        http://warframe-builder.com/Primary_Weapons/Builder/Vectis_Prime/t_30_22203400_131-5-5-132-2-5-133-4-5-137-0-10-140-7-5-143-3-3-150-1-10-159-6-5_137-7-150-8-132-8-143-7-133-6-131-6-159-9-140-9/en/2-0-77/64102/0

        Remember the Vectis Prime is with Primed Chamber which not everyone has, but even then, it is out Substaned DPS by Lanka. Not to mention Vectis Prime doesn’t have innate punch through and no red crits.

      • December 16, 2015 2:48 am

        Lanka actually got more substained DPS than Vectis Prime once charged. Even when Vectis Prime uses Primed Chamber.

  45. Clem permalink
    December 16, 2015 12:12 am

    Take this build for an example. But remember to set it to Charged Shot and Maximum Zoom.

    Lanka:
    http://warframe-builder.com/Primary_Weapons/Builder/Lanka/t_30_22222300_132-1-5-133-6-5-137-0-10-140-3-5-141-5-5-150-4-10-159-2-5-405-7-5_137-7-132-8-159-5-140-5-150-8-141-6-133-11-405-9/en/2-0-20/38366/0

    Vectis Prime:
    http://warframe-builder.com/Primary_Weapons/Builder/Vectis_Prime/t_30_22203400_131-5-5-132-2-5-133-4-5-137-0-10-140-7-5-143-3-3-150-1-10-159-6-5_137-7-150-8-132-8-143-7-133-6-131-6-159-9-140-9/en/2-0-77/64102/0

    Remember the Vectis Prime is with Primed Chamber which not everyone has, but even then, it is out Substaned DPS by Lanka. Not to mention Vectis Prime doesn’t have innate punch through and no red crits.

    (I’m not sure if I said this, because my Tennonet is really bad right now)

  46. December 16, 2015 9:25 am

    Ok guys, I’m sold. I’ll update the article. I have to admit, I’ve thought of the Lanka as a “bad weapon” for so long, I didn’t even test it to see if its DPM was good.

  47. January 12, 2016 11:31 pm

    Which dagger do you prefer?

    • January 13, 2016 10:50 am

      I don’t. Daggers just aren’t viable. If their speed were in the 1.3-1.7 range, they would be worth using, but ever since their attack rates were nerfed, they have been worse than the polearm weapons like the Orthos and Tipedo. I really liked the Fang Prime, and I love the sheer aggression of the attack animations for that weapon.

      Balancing melee weapons comes down to 3 characteristics: DPS, attack speed, and area of effect. The Tipedo dominates in attack speed and area of effect. The Scindo Prime has DPS and AoE. Personally, I think Warframe needs to be balanced such that it’s always a tradeoff between those factors for the “high tier” weapons.

  48. Serafin permalink
    January 13, 2016 2:34 pm

    Um why is war not up there war is currently the best heavy melee weapon and the mios is also currently on of the best melee weapons in the game especially with primed reach dera vandal needs to be up there it’s a top tier assault rifle as well as dread simply because it’s a more viable option for stealth with a bit less damage than rakta cernos

    • January 14, 2016 11:32 am

      The war is there, it’s full name is Broken War. The Mios is not as good as the Scindo Prime. The guide does not include exclusive event weapons because if I just listed a ton of event weapons, people wouldn’t know which weapons were the best that they could actually still get.

      • January 18, 2016 11:07 pm

        Think he meant normal War.

      • January 19, 2016 10:06 am

        Ok, I’m stupid. So the regular War has slightly higher damage and DPM (128 vs. 125), the same crit chance and crit damage. Without having actually played with both (I only have the Broken War as I didn’t realize you could fix it), I’d say I’d still slightly prefer the Scindo Prime, since sub-1 attack speed is a real drawback IMO.

      • January 19, 2016 2:15 pm

        Normally I would agree with the sub-1 attacked speed point, but both War AND Scindo are below 1. And with a Berserker on a 20% crit weapon for both, I’m not sure how much the difference of .05 attack speed really matters. Honestly, I just consider them both about on par. Any bonus damage the War has I just remind myself that it’s mostly Impact.

        Keeps them both balanced in my head. Besides, they can both use Tempo Royale, so in reality I end up going through the same movements for the same kills anyway.

      • January 24, 2016 8:26 am

        War has a higher damage. And seems to have a higher range. But the impact kinda hurts the weapon a bit.

      • Serafin permalink
        February 4, 2016 9:59 pm

        Well now that we have sorties dera vandal is obtainable and so far I’d say it rivals the boltor prime so I can safely say it at least deserves a thought considering it’s amazingly high accuracy for an assault rifle and good puncture damage I prefer it by far over boltor p and yea I guess war having impact damage is kinda bad but I still kill things more reliably than I used to with my scindo p

      • February 5, 2016 10:46 am

        The Dera Vandal is not as good as the Boltor Prime. The handling stats are similar, but the base damage is 31.1 vs. 55, so overall DPS isn’t even close.

      • February 5, 2016 4:33 pm

        Serafin,
        If you like the Dera Vandal give the Supra a try. The Supra feels a whole lot like the Dera and I’m pretty sure the Supra has better DPS. Also a big bonus is the Cephalon Suda mod that goes on the Supra. Free Energy is always nice.

  49. January 18, 2016 11:08 pm

    Like.. uhm… If I really need to choose a dagger for convert lethality, which one do you think I should use?

    • January 19, 2016 10:00 am

      Fang Prime. They look the coolest.

      • January 24, 2016 8:25 am

        Covert Lethality can only be used on single Dagger ;cc +100 Base damage and 100% Instant kill in finishers.

      • January 24, 2016 1:50 pm

        yeah single daggers only. the only one i use is the dark dagger because i usethe syndicate mod with it. Ill hold it with a casting frame and just get energy procs from it occasionally. but it will do a lil bit of damage now with covert lethality. I used to use it with Saryn alot and use miasma but since the rework im not sure how i would use her nowadays. waiting for prime saryn before i get into that..

  50. st4rbang permalink
    January 19, 2016 6:04 am

    I wanted your opinion on the Quanta Vandal. I’ve been super dedicated to it since I obtained it during Operation False Profit. Iv’e been using it non stop, as it is by far my best weapon. I still consider myself new so I don’t have any of these weapons listed to compare it to, but it’s secondary attack seems to be holding up in the current Sortie missions.

    • January 19, 2016 9:59 am

      I also like it a lot. The secondary attack really gives it some versatility when you need that AOE attack. I think I formaed mine once or twice.

      • st4rbang permalink
        January 21, 2016 3:46 pm

        Not only that but when you shoot the cubes it does increased damages, so I can easily get up to 60,000 damage crits with frames like Nova on the team. I use Mirage and her 1st ability allows me to shoot 3. I feel it is very strong if used right.

  51. February 15, 2016 1:25 am

    Do you think there should be a CC category for secondary weapons like Staticor and Sonicor?

    • February 18, 2016 11:37 am

      I’m not sure actually. I think it would be hard to quantify. Personally, I think you can’t beat the Ignis with Blast damage build. The AOE is huge and the status chance is 25% base. I only recently got a Sonicor and haven’t played with it much.

      Honestly, I only play Warframe about once a week. I come back for events and new quests, but in terms of playing Tier 3/4 Survival missions to an hour, the kind of stuff you need to bring the best weapons to do, I don’t do that anymore.

      • February 18, 2016 7:42 pm

        I see.

      • February 19, 2016 4:48 pm

        Aww poor Clem. I love Warframe, really I do, but I’ve played 2000 hours of it. None of my friends play anymore, and I just can’t get excited about running the same void mission 100 times to get the newest shiniest prime part when I already have half a dozen prime warframes and dozens of prime weapons in my inventory. I’ve been doing this for almost 3 years now.

      • February 19, 2016 7:02 pm

        …I’ve got 3600 hours. That may be because I have a problem, but I stand by my decisions.

      • February 20, 2016 11:17 am

        I’m around 2000 hours myself. With 83 days. Only been playing 2 years tho.

  52. It's me :D permalink
    April 25, 2016 10:16 pm

    Dex Sybaris – Best burst rifle.

    Boltor Prime is not even close to being one of the best weapon anymore as it is out-preformed by many others. Zhuge for example out-damages it by a ton, while may not be as handy, Zhuge is a crit weapon, making headshots extremely overpowered.

    Kulstar –> Angstrum

    Staticor == Overpowered

    • April 25, 2016 11:40 pm

      “Don’t expect a weapon to be the best forever; power creep is a big deal in Warframe.”
      What’s that? Literally one of the first things he mentioned on this page?

      Also the Kulstar is hardly better. The Angstrum is far more reliable.

      • Chill Guy. permalink
        April 27, 2016 1:39 am

        Wow, chill… I am just giving suggestion

      • May 9, 2016 2:16 pm

        I’ve decided that the Sonicor, the Kulstar, and the Angstrum are too close to call. I have put them all in the guide since they are all good.

    • April 27, 2016 12:54 pm

      The Dex Sybaris is not eligible for being on this guide since it is an event weapon.

  53. May 9, 2016 3:08 pm

    I would suggest taking a look at the Atterax Melee weapon again, James. The recent mods for combos was an indirect buff. The whip hits everything in range, meaning amazing combo chains very quickly, it’s Berserker viable at 25% Crit Chance and 3X Base Crit Damage, and Primed Reach gives it about a 15 meter range. You can forego a True Steel here because of how easy it is to keep the combo up and let Blood Rush do the work for you.

    While it used to fall off a bit in damage some time ago, Body Count and Blood Rush keeps the combo up which allows it to stay useful as long as you’re in the match.

    I’ve not yet played a match where the Atterax eventually fell in damage if I kept my combo up, which was very easy.

    I understand that the weapon DOES require these mods to become as useful as I’ve described. If you choose not to add it due to this, I will not be upset. (Though I would appreciate a note in the list)

    • May 9, 2016 3:12 pm

      I’ll check it out. It is really hard for me to catch a weapon that requires a strange build to be effective. I run some basic tests, such as “check if a crit build is optimal”, and “check is a reload/fire rate mod is optimal”, but when it comes to checking if melee weapons can build good combos, there are simply too many variations for me to personally test, and it’s not amenable to spreadsheet testing either. I appreciate your feedback. I will try this build in person and if it seems good, I will add the Atterax to the list with a note about the build.

      • May 9, 2016 8:43 pm

        I should mention that abusing the Slide attack is important for taking out tankier enemies, or a sizeable wave of general ones. I doubt you needed to be told that, but I’m just playing on the safe side.

        Also, if you need access to the mods, I have extras of all of them and am willing to “donate” them. (I do all the work for my less active clan members in terms of getting the Event mods and such, and always make sure to get a dozen of each unique item.)

        Hell if you want I can give you temporary access to my account to just use the already built and forma’d weapon. I rather doubt you’d screw me over.

        But yeah, the only part of the build that’s a bit out of the normal range of mods for Melee weapons is the Primed Reach. Body Count and Blood Rush belong on most weapons now anyway.

  54. Solomon permalink
    May 13, 2016 3:23 pm

    What happened to the boltor prime?

    • May 13, 2016 4:04 pm

      It no longer compares as well to some of the newer weapons. It is still a good weapon, however.

      • May 15, 2016 7:38 am

        Yeah, power creep. It’s still good, but not best. I try to keep the number of weapons as low as possible, so when a new OP weapon is added, one old one must go.

  55. Hello permalink
    September 15, 2016 9:25 am

    Galatine Prime

  56. September 20, 2016 11:54 pm

    Telos Boltace is crazy af

    • September 20, 2016 11:55 pm

      The spin reach is like 20m and I can one shot Level 100 Heavy Gunner with enough combo.

      • September 25, 2016 7:49 am

        Yeah… stuff like that is why I stopped being diligent about updating this guide. Every patch they release a new weapon that’s twice as powerful as the last most powerful. I remember when the Hek was the best weapon in the game, then the Gorgon, then Latron Prime, then the Soma, then etc etc. It just gets old after awhile. Any new prime/syndicate weapon is almost guaranteed to be better than anything that has come before. I posted every so often about weapon balance and power creep on the forums, but honestly, their business model relies on power creep or older players will just stick to what they used to use and not spend platinum on the new stuff.

      • September 25, 2016 1:33 pm

        As unfortunate as it is, lists like this are becoming less and less relevant. Tier lists used to be really helpful for people who were coming into the game, or for people who wanted to try their hand at something better than what they were used to.

        Power creep killed that feeling of advancement in this game for me. Even when a new weapon comes out that’s better than the one I have, all I feel is a bit cheated.

        “But I’ve forma’d this weapon 7 times, and have gotten really good at using its combos and melding it with my warframe’s abilities!”

        “Yeah, but Tigris Prime outdamages you without forma or effort.”

        Which is why I stick to using all my old favorites now.
        #fuckthemeta

      • September 26, 2016 1:40 pm

        I feel like when I first wrote this guide, there was a real choice. There were weapons that were good, but which one was your favorite could theoretically be up in the air. The first “absolute best” weapon I think there was was the Acrid. When they introduced that, it was the first time I though there was no choice as to what was the best. But at least it stayed good for a few patches. These days, every single new weapon is significantly better than the last. I think they need to do a global rebalance and bring everything back to parity, but that won’t happen. I think that they think that players wouldn’t like it since they’d have no reason to get the new thing? I don’t know. I mainly spend money on cosmetics, so I’m not sure how much money they make selling weapons.

      • September 25, 2016 9:26 pm

        DE really gotta fix their stupid Power Creep s***.
        People make excuses for the Galatine Prime by saying “Mastery + Prime” And it is “logical” for Galatine Prime to be better than other heavy blades… What the hell? What about Broken War vs Dakra Prime? They immediately switch to another argument by saying I need to get over it, lol.

  57. Aquifn permalink
    December 10, 2016 9:40 am

    No Lex prime, Lex for noobs? Vaykor maralok? Missing some top tier hand cannons

    • December 10, 2016 12:48 pm

      “Current as of Update 18.6”
      The creator of this list doesn’t play Warframe as often anymore. The list isn’t kept up to date regularly.

      • December 10, 2016 12:54 pm

        It’s been a long time since the Lex Prime was top tier.

      • December 10, 2016 3:02 pm

        Well, the Lex Prime was buffed last year. Same total damage as Brakk, but without pellet spread, and increased crit chance and status chance. Not sure if you saw that or not.

      • December 11, 2016 4:13 pm

        I did, but I forgot about it. Maybe I’ll add the Lex. I like the way it handles. The accuracy makes it much more versatile than the Brakk.

Trackbacks

  1. Warframe Beginner’s Guide | azmytheconomics
  2. Warframe Archwing Weapon Build Guide | azmytheconomics
  3. Warframe Archwing Itzal Build Guide | azmytheconomics
  4. Warframe Odanata Build Guide | azmytheconomics
  5. Warframe Elytron Build Guide | azmytheconomics
  6. Warframe Melee Balance | azmytheconomics
  7. Warframe - Top 5 Primary Weapons Worth Forma'ing [The Hitlist]

Leave a Reply

